An addiction at the age of 10.

Growing up I was very busy. I played competitive soccer and hockey while still going to school. Although I was very athletic and involved in various sports teams, I didn’t really hang out with many people. Throughout grade school, I was bullied; maybe it was because I was so energetic, had red hair, or just didn’t really ‘fit in’ with the kids at my school since I was different. When I wasn’t at sporting events, I spent a lot of time inside. I didn’t really have many friends aside from my older neighbours; I spent more time with my family. When I was 10 my sister helped create my very own email address. I didn’t know it at the time, but it was then my online experience was born. It started with MSN, gradually becoming more involved on additional websites.Now, as an active participant on networks such as Tumblr, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and Youtube, I have been able to connect with others who have shared interests. If I hadn’t been involved on social media, I would have most likely had a difficult time coming out as a gay woman. It was social media that showed me I wasn’t alone and was able to be myself. I am thankful for the privilege of having such devices available to me as they have helped me with the opportunity to find a sense of community, especially with Tumblr and Youtube, online.

 tumblr_inline_n2clrwdVLV1rnvwt1

It’s interesting now looking back on my online experience, what started out as a simple email, enabling me to connect with other people, has progressed into me becoming a ‘social media junkie’. Now I’m very much so connected with people from all around the world compared to the lonely little girl from the start.

The Process of my Online Addiction
https://storify.com/sydneyoneill/the-beginning-of-this-online-addiction

Leave a Reply

